A New Poem by Lauren Ashley

The Boy Who Saw Wolf

 

Lauren Ashley

 

They said call for help if I needed to,

They would come protect me from danger,

I saw it creep out of the trees, a shadow

dancing silently across the canvas of the woods.

 

They ran to me when I called,

Ready to battle the armies of hell,

But they didn’t see it slink back into dark,

Slipping away while their backs were turned.

 

They came when I yelled for them,

Stress tightened the wires in their foreheads,

The demon stalked the outside of their ellipse

while the monsters circled me.

 

They trudged to me when I called,

Wielding knives but not

to slay the evil closing in that they

refused to believe.

 

They sent me out to watch again,

And said call for help if I needed to,

After they punished my tongue for the

crime their eyes committed.

 

They heard nothing when the silhouette

slipped slowly from the night, stalking

silently towards me. I didn’t scream.

Let them cry wolf.

 

Leave a Reply

