New Poem by Ariel Hnatiw

Ariel’s poem can also be found on the “Student Poem” page along with poems by Kirsten Bussière and Geoffrey Bates. Enjoy.

The Beat

By Ariel Hnatiw

 

thrum

thrum

thrum

 

you pull me from sleep

dreams and lullabies

you won’t let me think

drink or speak

 

thrum

thrum

thrum

 

you follow me day

night

it doesn’t matter

you’re always

there

 

thrum

thrum

thrum

 

I can’t escape you

no matter how I try

you’re like the beat to my tired

and broken down

heart

 

thrum

thrum

thrum

 

won’t you please disappear

won’t you please let me go

 

thrum

thrum

thrum

 

I can’t stand you

I can’t live with you

I can’t handle you

 

thrum

thrum

thrum

 

even when you’re not

there

I can hear you

you’re there

 

thrum

thrum

thrum

 

you’re a jackhammer at

my head

3am

6am

10am

never ending

 

thrum

thrum

thrum

 

ing away at my head

my heart

my life

 

please

 

won’t you

thrum

thrum

thrum

elsewhere?

 

and leave me to appreciate you once you’re

gone

 

Leave a Reply

